Looking for advice - Trails for an 8 year old

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rrrel

Reaction score
I took my girlfriend on her first hike last week. We did algoquin. Its safe to say that she thought that she got her butt kicked, but I think I have her hooked. Now that I she has caught the hiking bug, it is time to get her 8 year old son involved. We live on Long Island and I am looking for a first day hike with her and the little one. My first and only thought is to do the labrinth at Mohonk. I have never done it before, I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me.
I am looking for a day trip from where we live, something tha will get the rugrat hooked. Her son is a bit of a "momas boy" so I cant just take him out into the woods for the weekend. If any of you have any ideas or experience with my situation, I would love your advice.

rrrel said:
I took my girlfriend on her first hike last week. We did algoquin. Its safe to say that she thought that she got her butt kicked, but I think I have her hooked. Now that I she has caught the hiking bug, it is time to get her 8 year old son involved. We live on Long Island and I am looking for a first day hike with her and the little one. My first and only thought is to do the labrinth at Mohonk. I have never done it before, I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me.
I am looking for a day trip from where we live, something tha will get the rugrat hooked. Her son is a bit of a "momas boy" so I cant just take him out into the woods for the weekend. If any of you have any ideas or experience with my situation, I would love your advice.
The labyrinth is probably not a 'day hike', more like a half an hour or so. A lot of driving and expensive entrance fee for a short hike. It does have a nice view at the top. But that's just my 2 cents....