One type of boot for multiple BC skis?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BobC

Reaction score
I searched through all the previous posts on BC skis and there's some good info on this forum, but I couldn't really find an answer to this question.

I currently have some backcountry skis, Alpina Trackers with Rottefella NNN-BC bindings and Alpina 1550 boots. These work well for kicking and gliding on straights but not so well when the trail gets narrow and twisty. Part of the problem is that I'm still learning, but I don't think I'll ever be able to make turns very well with these - they're 192 CM and just are not designed for quick turns.

If I wanted to get a second pair of skis that was shorter and wider, for use on narrow, twisting trails, with the realization that I'd be giving up some gliding ability on the straights, would it be wise to get the second pair of skis with NNN bindings too, so that I don't have to buy a second pair of boots? I guess what the question really boils down to is, how much does the binding style affect your ability to turn? I'm sort of hoping I can just get a shorter ski with NNN bindings. I'm not talking about wanting to fly down the side of a mountain, I'm just not much of an agressive skier. I just want to be able to handle winding trails a little better than with my current Alpinas. If it turns out I need to buy new skis, bindings, and boots, I probably just won't bother with all of this and will just stick with my current skis.

IMO, the boot and the binding are what determine how much control you have. What I've seen of NNN-BC, it still doesn't approach what you can do with a 3-pin/cable setup and good stiff boots. There's way too much flex in NNN and other click-in set ups.

If there's any stiffer binding out there that will accept your old boots, I'm sure someone will let us know.