Red Ridge, W East Kennebago, Black Nubble, Merrill-ME

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buckyball1

Reaction score
...4 peaks, all 3Ks..(thanks to jt, Damon, Nate and NDave for beta on parts of these hikes)----took off at 2AM for a long day(s)..first item on agenda was the "straggler" i left last week...as i drove toward Grafton Notch i was treated to a huge orange full moon setting in the west followed about an hour later by the orange sun rising in the east..neat--i turned into the York Pond Rd (runs into upper end of Success Pond Rd) just after leaving GNState Park and worked my way around to the north side of

Red Ridge 3030' What had been a clear morning became total soup after i went over the HOL in Grafton Notch. I parked before the spot i intended due to a mushy log road and started up one of the numerous skid trails headed toward the top. I'm far from a logging expert and generally supportive of the industry, but this place is a textbook "how not to log" setting--piles of slash everywhere, not only on the skid roads, but all over the woods-hard to find a place to walk unimpeded. It was like walking on giant pick up sticks interspersed with sand.

"Easy" route to the "top", but no canister-pea soup conditions and a 20 minute search-damn, what a way to start the adventure-hate when i miss a can. In frustration, i pull out the map and hello, i shot for the "wrong" summit-true summit is an easy 0.25 miles away thru a shallow col filled with more cool spider webs than i've ever seen, now glistening in morning dew and emergent sunshine. The real top has been recently logged all the way up from 3? sides (not my side:))-fortunately my map/compass skills are still intact-"easy" canister, tube type, water inside when i screwed out the bottom plug-not sure why this happens. I tried to dry register which contained such luminaries as Nate, Albee, DR, Marc and Mayor Jim.