Whites PEAKS Extravaganza this weekend

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zer0-G

Reaction score
I'm going to the Whites this weekend.
On Friday I'll be doing North Twin.
Saturday Carrigain and Possibly the Wildcats.

If I don't get the Wildcats on Saturday, I'll be doing them Sunday morning.

I am looking to Hook up with some people that might be doing those peaks this weekend. So, if anybody is doing these peaks ...let me know.

Comments warnings also welcomed i.e. beware of High Water etc...I am not an expert in these locations and I understand North Twin has some water crossings....

Zer0-G (Ronnie)

The Guide book states that the first two crossings can be avoided by bushwhacking along the east side of the river.

If one were to bushwhack along the west side of the river it looks like all three can be avoided.

I've never been there before so I was wondering about how feasible either of those options would be?

The guide book states that the three river crossings are very difficult or impassable during periods of high water with the third being least difficult.

In the other thread, which you posted in, I asked about the 3rd crossing specifically because I wanted to also do the FWT, and at least MichaelJ thought it would be high (http://www.vftt.org/forums/showpost.php?p=237068&postcount=11). Maybe it will, and maybe it won't, but unless the weather of the day greatly improves, it doesn't matter 'cause I'm not doing this loop unless there are views.

I can't answer the question about BW'ing the West side of the river the whole way.

The NWS has a flood watch for Twin Mountain Thursday and Friday...

http://forecast.weather.gov/showsig..._place1=Twin+Mountain+NH&product1=Flood+Watch