Knee Problems on the return trip

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redcloud

Reaction score
Hello people,
Still a newbie here.
Yesterday, I took a day off for a hike. I went to Cheshire, MA to the AT crossing on rte. 8, and did the five mile hike up Saddle Ball Mtn. This is part of the AT. Not much views to speak of since the last 3/4 mile was in the clouds and cold mist. Also, the trail was very wet and slippery. I guess nine days of rain will do that!
Anywho, I definately have a problem coming downhill for an extended period. The same thing has happened to me before on other trails. On either knee, I'll start to feel this pain on the outer side of my knee joint, and when it starts, I know that I have injured it and it will be getting worse. Yesterday, I had two to three miles to go to get back and it went out on me again. The rest of my hike was extremely painful, and I had to favor my right knee every step of the way. Yes, I do use hiking poles, and I use them as much as possible. Without them, I think I would have had to crawl down the mountain.
What I am wondering is am I simply over doing it, or is it a technique issue, or what? I put all the weight I can on my poles cause I know what'll happen if I don't, but it ended up happening anyway.
This hike did total about 10 1/2 miles. Maybe, it's just too much for me, I don't know.
One other time I was decending the Hopper on Greylock, and my left knee did the same thing.
This is giving me doubts for future outings, especially if I ever do an extended trip.
Thankyou for any input. I'd appreciate it alot, Eric

redcloud said:
Hello people,
Still a newbie here.