Back in NH

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grey J

VFTT Supporter
Reaction score
I returned to NH last week for my annual visit although I have missed a few years. Though I've never lived in NH, I've been coming back to hike these mountains for 50 years now. The middle of August has been one of the more reliable times in terms of weather over the years, but it was mostly wet this year for the 5 days I was there. Fortunately, not wet enough to keep me off the trails. I've been working my way back from a serious illness which I've discussed here before and won't bore you by reiterating. I finished the 4Ks about 10 years ago and have been casually pursuing the 52WAV list since then. On the drive up, I stopped at Mt Kearsarge and claimed that one in a light drizzle as I walked into the clouds. The fire tower looked eerie in the mist. Day 2 was a repeat with intermittent drizzle, but I was able to solo (don't tell my wife) on the relatively easy Stinson Mt where there was another "grey out" and absolutely no view. The only photo worth taking was the pictures of the old fire towers posted on a board at the summit. My buddy joined me for a hike up Black Mt which was challenging for me and gives you an indication of where my recovery stands. I now use hiking poles when descending and they were very helpful. The views were in and out and the rain persistent. Must have put on and taken off my rain jacket 5 or 6 times. The early 1800s lime kilns at the base are worth the short side trip. Lime Kiln.jpg