Attempting Night Shots

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grouseking

Reaction score
For the first time, I attempted a few night time shots, and have now become quite interested in what I can do. I think the max exposure time I can have is 15 seconds, so that is what I shot last night. The moon helped the light out in a few of the pics.

Positive critiques and happy comments are welcome. This is my first time trying this out so I'm fragile. :)

First pic: I've always wanted to take a picture like this, along a road. Now I need to get to a city, and find a way to get that annoying glare spot that is to the left in the tree.

912062988_Gtop5-L.jpg

These next two I'm not sure if I really "like" but I enjoy how they came out because I've never shot this way before.

This pic is kind of neat because you can see the cloud movement over the 15 seconds. Plus they are lit up by the moon.
912062920_CUVUN-L.jpg

And finally, this one has grown on me a little. I don't know how much I like the glare of the moon, but I like the clouds and the trees.
912062949_Z9VkZ-L.jpg

In your follow on shots similar to your first image, get to a vantage point where the headlights do not shine directly at the camera. Try a balcony, elevated porch, on a bridge overpass, a second floor window, etc. Stop down to f/11 or f/8. Your exposures will be longer than a wide open lens but your images will be crisper and you'll pick up more action in the longer time exposures.

For your images of the moon with long exposures, you're not going to get much different or better than what you shot unless you shoot on a night where the moon is 1/4 or less and the moon's apparent movement is towards the open end of the crescent moon. I'll leave that for you to pick the right night.

Good first attempts. Keep up the experimentation.

JohnL