Cadillac Mountain 08-16 & 08-17

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alspal

Reaction score
This was my first visit to Mount Desert Island, but my appetite has been whetted and I hope to go back again. The family vacation to Nova Scotia left me hobbling after straining a hamstring racing in Halifax. I tried to make the best of it by jogging (not running) for a couple of days. Running uphill would be easier as I’d go slower and shorten my stride.

I studied the maps carefully and planned out a run that would get me up Cadillac via Dorr Mountain. Cadillac is billed as “the highest point on the Eastern seaboard north of Brazil”. I’m still not sure what that means but it is also the high point in Hancock County, which makes it more attractive as a destination (for me).

I headed out from Bar Harbor (sea level) and ran to the Great Meadow loop which is a very nice trail that loops around Keebo Valley golf course (the eight oldest golf courses in the country). The trail is primarily crushed stone, flat and smooth and the two mile loop is very scenic. I jumped off at Hemlock road, an old carriage road, and then reached Hemlock trail. Hemlock trail is where the climbing started, with 200’ of climb in .2 miles. I then turned onto the North Ridge trail which climbed another 900’ in .8 miles. The trail was excellent! There were a lot of open ledges where you could look out over Bar Harbor and see how much altitude had been gained.

The wind really picked up in the last quarter mile and I had to steady myself on the summit marker (1,270’) to take some pictures. A little over ½ mile away I could see people on the top of Cadillac. I only spent a couple of minutes checking out the view as I only had another 30 minutes to meet the gang on Cadillac and check out the sunset.