Carrigain! At last!

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

forty8

Reaction score
I've been pursuing these peaks on and off for ten years. Last week, I completed numbers 46 and 47 with a thru-hike of the Kilkenny Ridge. That leaves just one: Carrigain. I've been told that the Desolation Trail is a lot of fun and so I'm thinking about taking my time and making a loop using Carrigain Notch, Desolation, and out by way ot Signal Ridge. If I really wanted to take my time and do it as a backpack, are there reasonable places to camp along that route? Are there other routes I should consider? Thanks for the input!

congrats on the 47. So close you can taste it, huh?

I have only hiked signal Ridge..a great hike.

forty8 said:
I've been pursuing these peaks on and off for ten years. Last week, I completed numbers 46 and 47 with a thru-hike of the Kilkenny Ridge. That leaves just one: Carrigain. I've been told that the Desolation Trail is a lot of fun and so I'm thinking about taking my time and making a loop using Carrigain Notch, Desolation, and out by way ot Signal Ridge. If I really wanted to take my time and do it as a backpack, are there reasonable places to camp along that route? Are there other routes I should consider? Thanks for the input!
It is an excellent alternative route. The travel through Carrigain Notch and around to the start of the Desolation Trail is pretty easy. Unless you get a late start you may find yourself there rather early in the day. There's a lot of relatively flat terrain in the area so finding a camping spot wouldn't be too bad; just resist the temptation to camp too close to the trail or the brook - though you might find others doing it.