Garfield

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike Z

Reaction score
This was Thursday. I got to the lot at Gale River Loop Rd at about 7:30. It was -12. I got myself ready and was on my way a little before 8:00. I had micro spikes on and my snowshoes on my pack. I got about half way to the start of the Garfield trail and I was already taking cloths off. Previous trip reports were very accurate. The trail was packed and easy to navigate. There was one set of of footprints from the previous day. The trail is not too difficult and not big on views. But the woods are beautiful and oh so quiet. This is my first time climbing Garfield and only my second 4k in winter. I just started winter hiking this year. I made my way through the switchbacks, all the time saying to myself "when the hell is this trail gonna end?" I made it within sight of the top. As I made it through the trees, let me tell you, my jaw dropped farther with each step. Thursday was a perfectly clear, blue sky day! I stood there and spun around at least three times. I picked up my jaw and made it up to the fire tower. I must have walked around it twice. I just could not stop sucking in the view. This has to be one of the best views in the White Mountains, ( feel free to chime in if you know of better). There was no wind at all. I could have lit a butane lighter with ease. According to my cheap little thermometer, it was 0 degrees. I put on an extra coat and sat against the tower for a bite. The view of back side of the Franconia notch was an awesome spot to have lunch. I sat there for a good half hour.