Hennessy Hammocks

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tomahawk

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie referred by hockeycrew. I wanted to see if any of you also use a Hennessy hammock for backpacking. They weigh only a little over 2 lbs., are easy to set up, and don't require a back pad or a pillow. If you have never seen them check it out at http://www.hennessyhammock.com/. I'll probably run into most of you on the trails and will become a regular member on VFTT so see you soon!

Haven't used a Hennessey, but I have used a Speer Hammock. Hammocks have advantages and disadvantages over tents.

As sapblatt noted, there have been a number of threads on hammocks.

Doug

I bought one a little while ago. I have used it in the yard to figure out the ins and outs and took a test nap. :D I am planning on using it for real for the first time the weekend of 10/1.

I will let you know.

Keith

I've been using one for 3 years and I love it. I don't get to use it often enough, but if I do any long-distance hikes next summer it will be the shelter I carry. This summer I spent more time in campgrounds, and so in my big tent, but for being way out in the woods nothing beats the hammock. I thought I even had a picture of how I rigged it up in Bigelow Col in June, but I can't find it.

Welcome to VFTT! See you on the trails!

I have a HH & have used it on parts of the AT in Mass. It's great as long as the temp is fairly warm. When the temps drop much (low 60ies) you need some insulation on the bottom. But if you have trees you can hang it most anywhere & be happy & dry.

I've heard a lot of good things about this hammock also....but I tend to sleep on my side, as well as tossing and turning, so I don't know how that would work. 'Sides my hubby probably wouldn't be too excited about it either since it's just for one person???