Mt. Moosilauke 05.27.2006

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alpinista

Reaction score
I got up to Lincoln, NH, fulling intending to score a tent site at one of the campgrounds that dot the Kancamangus Highway _ only to be greeted by a torrential downpour that dampened my mood at the prospect of setting up a tent in the rain.

So, yeah, it wasn't the most wildnerness of experiences, but I decided to do the luxurious thing and stay at a motel in town. (Shhh, this will just be our little secret, OK???) :eek:

I'd also been planning to bag the Sleepers, two smaller mountains. But the longer I studied the maps and the trail guide, the less I felt inclined to go out for a long slog.

I definitely wanted a solo trek, something I hadn't done in quite a while. I missed being by myself, testing myself to the limits I choose. Still, I longed for something relatively leisurely, something that would allow me to take in a nice breakfast beforehand and get back in time for a nice dinner. Gotta love it when hiking plans revolve around restaurant plans, eh?

Destination: Moosilauke, always a favorite peak of mine for the stunning views for relatively little effort.

I started off from the Moosilauke Ravine Lodge, and headed up the Gorge Brooke Trail. The last time I'd taken this trail to the summit was just a few days after I'd finished the NH48 _ and I boogied up it, seemingly weightless after meeting that longtime goal. This time, I was out to amble. And it's a good thing, because I was mighty sluggish the whole way.

The weather was iffy. At times, there were patches of bright blue sky that would poke through. But mostly, it was misty, occasionally some sprinkles, and very few views.