Small NH Hikes with a Clogged Vein

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrishandAlex

Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or a nurse practitioner. If you have a DVT, then discuss what you should and should not do in terms of activity, etc. with your licensed doctor (MD) and his/her medical team (registered nurses and nurse practitioners). The following relates how I am dealing with my own DVT. It is in no way a recommendation of how you should or should not deal with your personal medical situation.

Last week, I was diagnosed with a DVT (deep vein thrombosis -- blood clot). I've been down this road before; I had a huge DVT in all the major veins of my left leg and pelvic region while I was pregnant with Alex. I'm very informed about my condition (caused by two recessive and mutated MTHFR alleles) and I'm being well taken care of by a top-notch medical team, so I count myself lucky.

This time around, the clot is not occupying every single major vein in my left leg and pelvic region...that's good, anyway. It's "only" stretched out along my common femoral vein, and it's keeping itself to the sides of the vessel instead of blocking the entire passageway. It's a kinder, gentler clot.

I've been on Lovenox for a week (tummy shots and headaches and bruising, oh my!) while they figure out my proper does of Coumadin (the pill I'll take forever and ever, amen). My long-term outlook is maybe good, maybe bad. Coumadin will keep my blood thinned so another DVT shouldn't form, but I'll bleed like a hemophiliac every time I scrape my knee. Oh well, there are worse things to deal with.