Ice Axe, Crampon, Snowshoe, etc Primers

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chip

Reaction score
Living where I do my basic approach to backpacking is that it's practice for something "more". Because of that I tend to be over-prepared/equipped, but be that as it may I still found myself "needing" an ice axe this past weekend and not knowing what to look for in one. I don't believe that having and knowing how to use the equipment is going to lull me into dangerous/over-my-head activity. I don't want to have to figure out how the stuff works when I actually need it. Since I'm not an expert and gear/technology changes, I've found the following links very helpful for both basic knowledge and specific product recommendations. With all the talk of "Essential Winter Gear" I thought I'd share them.
STANDARD DISCLAIMERS; get instruction, use at your own risk, I have no vested interest, etc.

Choosing an Ice Axe

Crampons

Snowshoes

And this is an excellent checklist with specific product recommendations;

RMI Guides Winter Expedition Seminar equipment list

Reactions: yam
One tip on crampons: fit them to your boots before you go. If you're like me, you use different boots for different routes -- telemark boots, Koflach doubles, leather boots -- but use one pair of crampons for all. My experience with several incarnations of G12s is that for boot sizes smaller than 10 (i.e the "10"-hole on the crampon spine), it can be hard to adjust them quickly in the field. Solution: once you know what boots you'll wear, adjust the crampons and check their fit onto the boots. Doing this at home is ideal, and the parking lot is OK, but doing it above treeline in high wind chill can be difficult if not impossible. (Doing it in soft snow can be tough too.)