Fish Creek Area 4/8/11 (Adirondacks)

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DSettahr

Reaction score
Spent an afternoon exploring in the vicinity of Fish Creek yesterday afternoon. I'd been back here a couple of times before, but have never really hiked extensively and explored the area.

I started at the snowmobile trail west of Middle Pond. The trail was in great shape for snowshoeing. The snow was packed down nicely by snowmobile traffic from the winter, and I was able to move quickly along it.

Stopped at Floodwood Pond for a bit to take some pictures. I'd camped out once at the campsite near the outlet (start of Fish Creek) while I was a student at Paul Smith's. Here, I encountered snowshoe tracks that came from the direction of Fish Creek Campground. I can also remember paddling through this area as a kid (more than 10 years ago now!). On that day, there was a trail crew in working to build a new bridge over Fish Creek... probably the same bridge that is still there today. Fish Creek itself was free of ice, and I startled a flock of ducks when I approached the bridge.

I had originally planned to follow the trail on the south side of Fish Creek all the way to the campground, but quickly changed my mind. In contrast to the excellent conditions courtesy of the snowmobiles on the north side of the creek, this trail had received no snowmobile traffic, and my snowshoes were sinking in to the wet snow considerably. I opted to save that trail for a future hike during warmer months when there is no snow on the ground.

Little Square Pond also has some open water near where Fish Creek flows into it. There are some nice campsites here on the eastern shore, although one had some garbage scattered about. I picked up what I could to carry out.