Manhattan

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IndianChris

Reaction score
Just throwing this idea out there...

Would anyone be interested in paddling around the metropilos this year? It would be a long day and I'm open to splitting the trip up into 2 days but 1 day would be cool too.

Ideally, I'd like to do it on a cool/cold, clear, calm day.

If anyone is interested, it would be great if we could meet first and maybe paddle for a couple of hours together. After we make sure we're all on the same page, we can organize the trip.

It certainly wouldn't be the first time it's been done so it is definately do-able.

Would love to get some responses.

I might be interested -- though I'm a real newbie in that activity. I don't own a kayak but I wonder if there are still places along the Hudson available to rent one.

Timing the tides, not getting run over by the Circus Line.. Can you hold your pee for 30 miles?

:)

That's what Warren says, he's done it. I'm scared of the East river :p

Jay

I think you only have to hold your pee for 28 miles. That's easy. :eek:

I believe there are places to get out along the trip. How many, where are they? Not sure but this is something I definately have to check out. I know of one by Spuyten Duyvil. There must be a few more. Warren?

I held it for the 16 miles or so across the sound but the last mile was painfull.

Worst come to worse, knowing wet exit/entry helps. (if you want to swim in the Harlem or East Rivers.)

What kind of experience is needed? I guess knowing some basic rescue techniques that rely on the paddlers around you is good. I can't roll but I still want to do the trip. It would be a plus but I don't think it's a necessity. Practicing these moves before we go is a good idea.

And of course being able to paddle the distance is a safety technique in itself.

Anyone?

IndianChris said: