Snowshoe questions

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trudy

Reaction score
I'm new to snowshoeing and have some questions:

1. What is the difference between snowshoes that are oval at both ends and those that come to a point in the back?

2. For general conditions - not for breaking trail, but general broken-out conditions - are those spring-loaded snowshoes that snap back an advantage?

Trudy said:
1. What is the difference between snowshoes that are oval at both ends and those that come to a point in the back?
When they were home-made by Native Americans they often had points at BOTH ends because bending the curve is tricky and you lost less wood that way. Because there was no good reason for a front point, this vanished as techniques got better. On icy conditions having a point at the back will reduce wear on the webbing as it takes the abrasion instead, but mostly now it's an appearance issue.
2. For general conditions - not for breaking trail, but general broken-out conditions - are those spring-loaded snowshoes that snap back an advantage?
They will toss more snow up the back of your legs?

Some of the differences with the rear of the snowshoes is on ones gait, or walk. It is said that the tapered snowshoes will give less chance of stepping on the other snowshoe if you have kind of a duck walk. But it's all kind of dependent on the user. Most of the racing snowshoes would be pointed just to have less chance of tripping (can be common when trying to run in snowshoes, moreso than hiking).