Trap Dike First Week of June

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonycc

Reaction score
Quick question...

It looks like I'll be able to sneak in a quick hike this weekend (June 4-5). I've been drooling over the trap dike to Mount Colden for a couple of years, and I am considering it this weekend. Is there snow/ice still in play this early in the season? If so, I'll probably switch plans to bag Colden from Colden Lake.

Thanks,
Tony

Last edited:
It's been a rainy Spring. Although I haven't seen the Dike this year, I am assuming it is still wet. You ascend, up through, near the waterfall. So It's recommended, to climb, the Dike, more so, during a dry spell.

I did it when it was wet. Really wet. You end up climbing in the waterfall. Clinging to the wet rock can be a bit unnerving to say the least. The worst part for me was being out on the slide, which was also wet. The chances of slipping off and dying are very remote, but you feel the exposure the entire time. If you go, be sure to post a trip report. I'd like to climb it again this season.

And make sure you do not exit the dike too early.And don't exit too late and have to wriggle through cripple bush. The dike is awesome.

hillman1 said:
I did it when it was wet. Really wet. You end up climbing in the waterfall. Clinging to the wet rock can be a bit unnerving to say the least. The worst part for me was being out on the slide, which was also wet. The chances of slipping off and dying are very remote, but you feel the exposure the entire time. If you go, be sure to post a trip report. I'd like to climb it again this season.
We checked it out from the trail on the other side of Avalanche lake. It looks really awesome, the pictures I have seen do not do it justice.