anyone interested in heading into the presidentials next weekend? (2-12ish)

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vtlukekultv

Reaction score
this is my first post...ever, sorry about any jitters, i'm trying to not seem to n-n-n-nervous. basically i'm just a beginner, a pup, a college freshman (literally) but i want to learn some stuff about climbing mountains in the winter. if you've got a little experience, and wouldn't mind imparting some of it on me next weekend in the presidentials, i would be eternally thankful. i've got all the romantic notions about washington, and if this incredible weather holds out for another week, i know i'll be at pinkham notch next saturday morning. LET ME KNOW, thanks.

island-bound in maine,
luke

Be prepared...

Luke,

The Presidentail Range in winter is no joke. High winds, very low temps, icey trail conditions, and avalanches in certain areas.

What do you have for winter backpacking gear?

I'm tenatively headed up to backpack Mt. Chococrua the weekend of 2/19. Feel free to tag along, if you have the proper gear. I plan on staying on the mountain for the night. Most likely Camp Penacook, but possibly Jim Liberty Cabin if I can figure out how to get th key.

I'm not being one of those guys saying "oh he said he's a newbie, so he must be stupid and unprepared" I'm just looking out for ya.

thanks so much for the offer, but i actually have to go to portland that weekend. my life is pretty cluttered right now, and next weekend is looking like the only one that is going to be available for the rest of the month. i think i'm pretty well armed with snowshoes, crampons, axe, all the basics really, i just want to try some more challenging stuff now i think.

keeping my ear to the ground,
luke