Dumb question re: tentsites

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sugarloafer

Reaction score
Bigelow Range from the top of White Nitro
I know a lot of are going to think I'm an idiot, but I'm new to this so here goes. I've noticed wooden tent platforms during some of my hikes and I'm wondering how you set your tent up on one of these ? What do you do with the stakes? Is my tent just old and I'm missing some technological advances in tent design ? Any help would be appreciated.....thanks !

Just take some extra cord with you and you'll be fine.

They have eye-bolts in the sides to tie off to and you can run the cord through the gaps in the platform and tie it off on a post or even just set a rock on it.

NO it is not a dumb question at all! If I plan to use a tent plat from I bring extra cord you can buy this at Wal mat if you want . get about 50 ft you Will not need it but it is that much less you will have to buy later. Guy out yout tent on to trees the sometimes (not at a certain places sites ) eye bolts finds some rocks to weigh them down in bad weather in good weathher with out storms open up the tent and enjoy the stars and othere celstial bodies. you might get lucky and catch a metor shower or o the aroura borialis . If it is going to be miserble stay home and plan a trip out west.

Last edited:
Before you tie your tent to the platform lay down inside and see if you have a level sleeping area. I made this mistake once on a backpacking trip with my wife. When we got to the platform we set up the tent then hiked a nearby peak to catch the sunset. When we climbed into our sleeping bags that night we soon realized that the platform was tilting down where our heads were. All we had to do was spin around to get comfortable, but with a cramped V shaped backpacking tent, our head and shoulders spent a close night together while our feet had all the room in the world!