Why Do You Hike?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave.m

Reaction score
I'd be interested to hear what motivates my fellow VFTTers to hike.

I think George Mallory put it best... "Because its there"

Seriously though. I feel more at home in the woods. I enjoy the peacefulness, and the rewards that you get from hiking. Recently I have been able to share some time with my son in the woods, so that is definately part of it. Hiking makes my body and mind stronger.

-percious

dave.m said:
I'd be interested to hear what motivates my fellow VFTTers to hike.

A simple but very good question. Well for me it's a few things.

First I work in an office all day behind a desk and chained to a computer (I'm a Programmer/Analyst) so going out to hike is like being let out for recess when I was kid.

Second, is my love for the WMNF. I only get up there once a year but I go every year and hike some of the trails on the Kanc as well as Welch-Dickey. There aren't many hiking trails in my state and most are not very challenging so I use them to get in condition for my annual trip to the White's.

Third, by nature I'm a bit of a loner (even though I'm happily married and have a son) and hiking is one hobby that I can do alone and be alone, I find it a very spiritual experience.

Fourth, to sort of negate #3, as my son gets older I plan to make hiking our father/son thing. I've taken him on a few trails and he seems to love it (he's only 18 months old). I cannot think of a better hobby for a father and son to do together.

Last and most important it's a great way to stay in shape. :)

Last edited:
Ummmm, because it makes me feel happy, and when I'm lucky, it allows me to spend quality time with the people I love most (my family).

Lots of other reasons I could list, but when you get down to it, that sums it up nicely.