XCountry Skiis

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IndianChris

Reaction score
Ha'y'all Doin'?

I'd like to get cross country skis. Where do I begin? What's a good kind to get? Should I go with a package deal? Money is ALWAYS an issue.

Thanks.

I'm no expert. I've had "3 pin" gear for years and recently pieced together an Alpine Touring (Randonee) set. Those "in the know" will ask what type of skiing you'll want to do; cross country, backcountry, telemark, randonee, etc.

Look in the usual places, Goodwill, Salvation Army, or Uncle Henry's if you're local to upper New England (I have no idea of where the "Gold Coast" is). I have found many sets there ranging from $3 to $20, for some pretty nice skis and boots. Many times they don't know what they have, I just scored some adjustable "ski poles" (Leki's) for $2 that someone had put with all the ski stuff.

After that I'd look to the ski stores themselves and ask for trade-in models or last year's leftovers, you can often fine decent gear very inexpensively that way.

One word though, don't scrimp on the boots. I have often passed over a 'deal' on skis because the boots weren't just right.

If you're a novice at skiing and don't know what type you'll be doing, look for an inexpensive set that wont require a lot of maintenance (waxing and/or setup), and don't get too caught up on length the first time out, you can do that with the next set of skis once you get more familiar with them.

First identify what kind of skiing you are interested in. Will you be skiing in set tracks at a X-C area? Wandering into woods on you own? Skate skiing for exercise?