A grave matter

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
This is my first time giving CC, so you are my guinea pig (I apologize in advance).

The first thing I noticed about the picture is that it looks a little blurry to me. I noticed you have a pretty large aperture, but am wondering what your shutter speed and ISO were. Also, what mode did you shoot in (i.e. aperture priority, manual -- wondering how the aperture/shutterspeed/ISO were selected)?

I like the subject, but I think I would've liked the composition better if the large gravestone was positioned more to the right in the picture like this (although I still find the small stones in front of the larger one a little distracting):

graveyard_crop1.jpg

I liked the inclusion of the branch at the top of the frame.

Thanks for sharing!

Hi pudgy groundhog,

The image was given a flash touch up on a HP Image Zone, which is not superior to adobe photo. However the picture was given the sepia.

I am still learning the camera's secrets. Because of this, I cannot (and apologize) that I cannot tell you right now what the ISO and aperature is. Thank you for your critique of the photo!

Regards,

Ridgewalker

Hi Ridgewalker.

I think the sepia tones do good things for the picture. It isn't exactly sharp, and lacks a bit of contrast, but I think it is a nice scene framed well by the branch. If the branch weren't there, the sky would be too dominant, so good choice to include it.

I also like the crop provided below...as it also seems a bit more contrasty.

Hope that helps, nice shot!

Old grave yards can be an interesting subject, and you chose an interesting time to photograph with the snow on the trees.