A whole bunch of first's on Jan 1

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

freighttrain48

Reaction score
I got out of work at 6pm New Years and did something I have never done on New Years eve before. I went home and was in Bed by 11pm. My girlfriend and I were planning to hike the franconia ridge the next day. When I got home she was napping and complaining about how she felt I thought to myself maybe we should save the ridge for a day that she felt better. She has never done a winter hike before and I myself have only done a few none being a white mountain 4k. I had hiked the Kinsmans we Big Earl and Sue but since that was Dec 10th it is not a winter 4k.
We woke up at 7am new years day and My Girlfriend said she felt much better. We gathered our gear and hit the road. With our late start I new that a big mileage day was out of the question. I figured that Jackson would be a good short Winter 4k, Tecumseh was our first summer 4k and I wanted something with good views for our first Winter 4k.
We Started off on the Webster Jackson trail around 11am( really late start I know!) and we made it about 100 yards up the trail before the Micro spikes came on. We skipped the elephant view and continued up the trail with the goal of a short stop at the second view point. I had learned a lot from hiking the Kinsmans with Earl and Sue. I paced myself trying to keep my sweat levels down. We made it to the view spot and saw nice views of crawford notch and the Highland center and the majestic Majestic Mount Washington Hotel shinning in the distance.