cross country new technology advice

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hikerfast

Reaction score
okay kids, I'm trying to get a handle on what is available for cross country skiing options, and perhaps make a decision and purchase.
order of knowledge:
im no expert for starters, but do a bit each year.
in 1984 until recently, you bought skis that extended up to your extended wrist over your head, had 'slipper' like boots that fit into a 3 pin binding that twisted when you tried to make a turn. fast, but not much good for turning. downhill is fun till you crash, unless you are pretty skilled(i dont mind crashing).
few years ago, these became referred to as 'touring' skis.
backcountry skis came out, shorter, wider, slower, metal edges. fine.
last year i bought a pair, got some great boots with the new bindings(not 3 pin), and when i turn my feet, the skis turn. what a change. very nice. i liked the new bindings so much i put them on my old 'now called touring skis' and they turn much better also.
also a few years ago, 'telemark'' skis come out, loose heel, pretty much look like downhill. new skis boots and bindings required(i think).
I saw some lady skiing on cardigan sunday with these 'randonet' bindings. $425 at ems. they allow you to freeheel for touring along, clip the heel down for downhill, and elevate the back or your boot about 5 inches for climbing, im assuming with the assistance of skins. sounds pretty nice. i dont know if you need to buy new skis, boots, or put them on existing skis and use the boots you already have.