Quick question on the Garmin 60CSx handheld GPS

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

walker

Reaction score
Massassachusetts Avatar: It looks easy on t
I'm new to the Garmin product, and the documentation Garmin supplies both with the product and on-line stinks, and knowing many members have this product, I'm asking this question knowing one of our GPS experts can help. When I have the "Satellite Page" displayed, there is the letter "D" displayed with some of the satellite signal strength bars, some of the time (not always). What does this "D" signify?

Picture of the screen...

2918219310101997668CvTJKH_ph.jpg

Thanks....Walker

Attachments

• 2918219310101997668CvTJKH_ph.jpg
    2918219310101997668CvTJKH_ph.jpg
    10.8 KB · Views: 182
Last edited:
. When I have the "Satellite Page" displayed, there is the letter "D" displayed with some of the satellite signal strength bars. What does this "D" signify?
The D signifies that differential corrections are being used. (The corrections come from a WAAS satellite.)

FWIW, the WAAS satellites are low on the horizon and hard to receive in the trees. In practice, they don't always improve the accuracy and can even degrade it or cause the indicated position to jump as the corrections turn on and off. I generally leave WAAS off. (WAAS was designed (by the FAA) to improve the accuracy and reliability of GPS for aircraft, not for ground use.)

FWIW2: The accuracy reported by the GPS is pretty meaningless--it does not account for all of the factors which can degrade it. (As a result you can't use the indicated accuracy to determine whether WAAS helps or hinders.)

Doug

Thanks Doug.....

I find it hard to believe Garmin puts out a product with almost no documentation behind it to teach the more advanced options on the GPS.