Shires of Vermont Marathon this Sunday

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Papa Bear

Reaction score
As some of you know, I've been training hard for the last 4-5 months for the Shires of Vermont Marathon which is this Sunday, May 20th. It starts in Bennington and ends in Manchester.

I decided to run this after I qualified for the 2013 Boston in last October's St. George Marathon (in Utah). 18 months from qualifying to running Boston seemed like a long time, so this one will keep me in the groove, as it were.

I've been writing a blog about my training, for those into such things: Running to the Shires.

Now maybe I can get some hiking into my schedule.

Rg

Hello all

Yesterday was my marathon — so what happened?

First the good news: I won 2nd place in my age group (60 - 69) out of 10 finishers in that group, and being 69, I was the oldest. The winner was over an hour faster then me, so he's just plain fast. I won a delightful little half pint container of 100% pure Vermont Maple Syrup.

Now the bad news: It was by far the slowest marathon I had ever run (that's called a personal worst), just under 5 hours. I, like almost everyone there, was defeated by the heat. It was unremitting direct sunlight (probably only about 1/3 of the route was shaded) and the temperatures rose to the mid 80s. To put it in perspective, I was a little slower than the median finisher, which means almost half the crowd finished in over 5 hours. And I also heard nearly 100 runners had not picked up their numbers. I assumed they cancelled when they saw the weather forecast and opted to find another race in the near future (another Vermont marathon is just one week later).