Taking The GPS Plunge w/ GPSMAP 62s- Have Many Questions

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DayTrip

Reaction score
I have finally decided to purchase a GPS Unit for hiking and from what I have read on VFTT, Amazon reviews and other sites there is much to not like about even the "best" of units. I think I have accumulated enough basic info to know what features I do and don't want so I'm down to the below specific questions. I'm pretty sure I am going to get the Garmin GPSMAP 62s unit so if anyone is using this model and can provide any feedback it would be greatly appreciated. I have ZERO experience using a GPS unit.

1) Anyone using this exact model? Would appreciate feedback from an actual user on what's to like, not like.

2) Can you download/purchase a map of NH with the actual trails already on it, i.e. can I get a map for my unit that is just like the maps that come with the AMC White Mountain Guide? I have already downloaded Base Camp and found free map files on various sites (and for the most part resolution is fine - at least on my computer screen) but they don't have the actual trails. 99% of my hiking is in the White Mountains so that would be the only real map of interest to me.

3) What is the best way to purchase maps? Sounds like a horror show for many people. Downloading to BaseCamp but then it doesn't export to device, purchase on Micro SD card but they're tied to SN so you can't use in software or another device, etc, etc.

4) Sounds like updating firmware is a common task. Is it hard/difficult to do? Not a real "tech guy". Will I be banging my head against the desk trying to figure it out?