UV protection wax for plastic kayaks?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paul ron

Reaction score
What do you plastic kayak owners use as a UV protectant on your boats?

Any particular recomended brands?

WBB: Hmm, I guess that is good, I use 303 to protect my VCP hatch covers which are rubber, but didn't know it also is used for plastics. My Impex is fiberglass so I don't use 303 for the boat itself.

Jay

Thanks. I'll pick up some this weekend at the marine supply. It sounds great but I have never seen anything like this before.

I waxed my kayak last weekend, should I wait till it wears off in a couple weeks, or can I apply 303 over it?

Is this stuff a wax, an oil, a silicon or more like paint? Slippery finish or tacky?

Sorry for the questions, I'm new to marine products.

I would wait until the wax wears off. Then clean the boat as you normally would. Then it is a matter of spraying on the 303 letting it sit for a short while then wiping off the excess with a clean rag.

This is from Frontenac Outfitters web site:

"Wash your canoe thoroughly after each use. We use an environmentally friendly household dish detergent, non-abrasive kitchen-cleaning pad and a soft cloth Acetone is great for getting rid of tough marks like pine gum; it can be picked up in your local automotive department. If you cannot find Acetone try using nail polish remover as most contain some Acetone. A UV inhibitor such as UV Tech or 303 Protectant will help protect Royalex, plastic and gel-coat finishes from fading. Think of 303 as “sunscreen” for your canoe. Apply 303 Protectant 2 to 4 times per season or as required. Frontenac Outfitters stocks 303 Protectant . Though not as effective, Armorall also works.
Frontenac Outfitters does NOT recommend waxing your boats hull. Although waxing will do no harm, it actually decreases hull speed and it interferes with 303’s UV protection."