Wallkill River... New Paltz to the NYS Thruway->Sturgeon Pool

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jay H

Reaction score
If you look at Google Maps...

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=new+paltz

It looks like you can paddle the wallkill pretty far north barring any falls and stuff from the Water street launch to perhaps Rifton and Sturgeon Pool as you can see on the map.

As I have no guide on the Wallkill, I'm wondering if this is feasible. I know it's might be too long for a day trip but is it possible to go up there from New Paltz?

Jay

It should be possible, however, I have no first hand knowledge.

There are two additional boat launches (by hand) north of New Paltz:
  • Springtown Road, CR 7, 4.5 miles north of New Paltz on the west side of the Wallkill.
  • NY Route 213, at Perrines Covered Bridge, just west of the NYS Thruway overpass.
You can paddle a bit further downstream from the covered bridge, however, there is a waterfall near Dashville where there is a old, fenced-in Central Hudson hydroelectric substation. Central Hudson (the local electric company) also owns much of the land at Sturgeon Pond. You might need to get permission from Central Hudson. I seem to recall reading an account (perhaps in the Poughkeepsie Journal) several years back of someone kayaking all the way down the Wallkill from New Paltz to the Rondout, and from there to the Hudson. There are a number of waterfalls and rapids on the Rondout also, the largest at Eddyville, and a lot of private land access needed for portages.

Well the Rondout goes over some pretty big falls in the town of High Falls! I might check it out if I am around this weekend, see how far i can go.. I'm going to estimate the mileage from NP to the NYS Thruway soon..