Whisperlite replacement pump?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paul ron

Reaction score
I have been using a Whisperlite stove for many years. Yeh it's not the best simmering stove out there but it is reliable in extrem winter condtions. My old pump finally developed a leak from severl cracks around the valve body. Rebuilding can't help this problem, a new pump is on order.

I bought the new design Standard MSR replacement pump. All I can say about it is that it SUCKS!

It has absolutely no adjustment. It sputters and seems like it's never got enough preasure, the flame is not as storng as the old style pump. It has absolutely no flame adjust like the old pump either. I'm constantly pumping it, that seems to work for a few seconds.

Before I took it out this weekend I used it in my backyard, tested it at 30°F ambiaent outside temps to be sure it will work in the woods, although it droped to 9°F when I tried using it in the woods. I also lubed all the O rings to be sure it was in tip top condition, I never trust the manufactures to do a proper job.

Does anyone know if there is another pump available for the Whisperlite white gas stove other than MSR's Standard replacement pump?

I have 3 or 4 of the new style ones and they all work fine. Perhaps you have one with a leak somewhere so it does not hold pressure or a leak in the line somewhere. I would check the seal at the fuel bottle first with some soapy water. MSR has good customer service so give them a call. As far as I know, that is the only fuel pump that will work.

I'm taking this pump back to EMS for an exchange. I also e-mailed MSR. Perhaps it is a bad one but to see such a big difference from the old one is dissapointing.

It's difficult to insert the pump into the bottle because of the newly designed air feed plus the angle of the fuel feed tube. Figure a new design would make it better not worse.