GPS question...Osseo Trail?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jason Berard

Reaction score
N. Thetford, VT Avatar: Cabot, winter 2011
so I was messing around with my Garmin 60csx and thinking about doing Flume via the Osseo trail...and noticed that it is the old route of the trail that is in mapsource .....so I just plotted to general route of the trail using the appropriate AMC map.

I guess my question is, how common is this with other trails in the Whites?

Any other ideas for getting around this? I'm a relative novice with a GPS, and we're still getting to know each other.....;)

I imagine there are other threads about this, but I did look, and didn't find anything useful.

thanks!

Very common, from what I've seen. Most sources draw from the USGS maps, which haven't been updated in quite awhile. You can find user-made GPX tracks at TrailRegistry, which are going to be (obviously) variable in quality. I mean to play with custom maps at some point, in my copious free time.

The Liberty Spring Trail is different from that plotted in Magellen's MapSource 4.x. Places denoted as "shelter" on the maps get removed as well.

Both Garmin topo maps and NG topo maps are based upon USGS maps. Presumably the locations of the trails are very similar.

The USGS topos haven't been updated in a number of years and show old trail locations in a number of cases. (They also show a number of abandoned trails which can be useful to a bushwacker.) If you want the latest trail locations in the WMNF, use the latest AMC topos. (The trails on the AMC topos have been plotted using GPSes and are updated frequently.)

Strictly speaking, this is a mapping issue, not a GPS issue. The only thing the GPS does is gives one's location to much higher accuracies than without and enable one to see the inaccuracies of the map. (A consumer GPS can also be more accurate than a particular map.)

Doug