Ethan Savluk’s #48, age 12: Carrigain, Sunday, September 23, 2007

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wardsgirl

Reaction score
Some people may call me an abusive parent. Instead of letting my son develop his My Space page or install an intravenous line of soda into his arm so he doesn’t need to travel too far from the Playstation, I’ve made him go hiking. Not just once or twice, but over and over again. He never wants to go, but he never bothers arguing much about going either. He really doesn’t have a choice.

Twelve years ago, I started hiking north from Springer Mountain when I was four months pregnant. I have been hiking and backpacking extensively for 25 years. People told me that my hiking days would be over when I had the baby, and I immediately set out to prove them wrong. Determined not to let my baby end my enjoyment of the outdoors, I decided I would always take him with me. When he was four weeks old, I carried him in a front sling on a dayhike up Mt. Chocorua. Sure, I knew I was supposed to wait the requisite six weeks, but my midwife agreed that it was OK in my case. After that, he rode in the sling while I carried my regular backpack. When he was two years old and a strong walker, we backpacked the Wildcat Ridge. Ten miles, five days. He was off to a blistering pace for a peakbagger. Hey, some adults don’t even bag two peaks in five days.

As he grew older, other activities competed for his attention. Baseball, karate, or just hanging around with his friends became preferable options. After all, he never asked to go hiking. Still, we found the time to hike.
“Let’s go for a hike this weekend,” I’d say.
“Dayhike or overnight?” he’d ask.
The answer never really mattered. It was usually OK.