'Homer' completes the NH 48's

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Homer

Reaction score
Mystic, Connecticut Avatar: Peakbagging with
I’ve now completed the NH 48’s. I’m fairly new to this website and have often been just a lurker reading all the great info that is presented here. It’s an incredible tool. Thank you Darren for creating this wonderful webpage. Anyway, a little background on me. I live in Connecticut. The name ‘Homer’ was given to me by a northbound thru-hiker this year while up on South Carter. He said he gave me that name because I’m an operator at a nuclear power plant and it reminded him of Homer Simpson. So it stuck. I started hiking up here with my father when I was a kid. Primarily a couple of trips a year, mostly involving all of the huts. My first 4000 Footer turned out to be Madison when I was 8 years old. My first ascent of Washington was when I was 10 in 1980. As I got into high school and college, other sports prevailed and I never got up to the Whites from about 1984 to 2001. A huge gap! Then I decided it was time to head back up to the mountains. It was awesome! It was like reliving my childhood all over again. I couldn’t believe I had stayed away for so long. Anyway, I took my fiancé on a couple of hut excursions for her to experience as well, and then I did a full hut traverse a little later. In the middle of all this in 2003, my father passed away at the age of 65. This was very crushing to me. My brother and I decided to place his ashes on the summit of Mt. Washington and vow to hike up Washington each and every year on his birthday, August, 1st. This is something I have and will do every year. This year also marked 25 years since my first ascent of Washington, so that was special too.