Looking for New Boot Feedback

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fisher Cat

Reaction score
The time has come for me to retire my old Salomon boots. I've had them for 6 years. They've been very faithful to me, but the last two monsoon seasons have produced a stink like a Yeti making a grunt sculpture. So I'm looking for feedback. I'm old style and like the leather feel and high top. I've been looking at these:

http://www.trailspace.com/gear/scarpa/sl-m3/

But seeing that I have no experience with the brand I would also like to consider any that you have had good experiences with.

Many, many thanks! This is a major purchase for me and I've got time to think it over. I hate putting the old ones in semi-retirement (now relegated to trailwork) but buying new ones is a major rush too.

I have these boots and like them a lot. I am a big fan of Scarpa and have worn various models for over a decade. I prefer Scarpa's leather models as I go through the mesh ones in about 18 months. I also prefer over-the-ankle boots as I tend to roll my ankles a lot due to clumsiness and fatigue.

They are very secure around the Achilles tendon, provide great traction especially on rock, and to me feel flexible without too much "give." I can wedge them into cracks and use just the toe on boosts (something I felt uncomfortable doing with Asolos).

However, they are very hot. Very very hot. So hot I haven't worn them since April, opting for below the ankle Merrells instead. I find Scarpas tend to be narrow as well, so I had to special order an extra wide size to get enough room in the toe box. I also replaced their rather thin insoles, which meant going for a larger-than-expected size.

One last thing: they are beautifully crafted, but you have to apply polish and wax liberally.

Oh yeah, I think I paid around $170-180 at Tent and Trails in NYC.

Last edited: