Advice on Maine hikes

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jwind

Reaction score
Looking for an overnight destination that's not TOO far from Portland for this weekend. Just returned from a few night in the presi's and we were thinking of something a little less grueling for this weekend. I've got a few overnight desitnation in mind but I'm having a tough time finding whether or not places are dog friendly. My pooch is just over a year so i'm kinda new to this. Pet policies are all over the map it's hard to keep straight. I know the Mahoosucs are dog friendly and Baxter is a simple no go but but it get's difficult in between. Any help?
:confused:

You might want to consider holding off for a couple more weeks... only because Maine still has tons of snow. Grueling does not even begin to describe my trip up over Baldpate this weekend. There was still a good three feet of snow on the north side of the mountain, the traveling was very difficult in the soft snow (even with snowshoes) and the trail was really hard to follow.

I'm not trying to discourage you... just wanted to forewarn you that conditions aren't that great in Maine right now. I wish someone had forewarned me! :eek:

- Ivy

How about Evan's Notch?

The Caribou-Speckled Wilderness might fit your needs. It's only about 1.5 hours out of Portland to the Great Brook Trailhead. I expect the area would have less snow than the higher elevations, but I couldn't say for sure. The trail up over Red Rock Mountain to Speckled Mountain is a nice one, with some good views.

I don't know about any rules for dogs, though.

cushetunk said: