Failed Madison attempt - Great Gully descent - 4/28

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbcbd

Reaction score
Date: 4/28/07

Trails:Airline, Gulfside, Great Gully, King Ravine, Short Line

Mountains:Madison - not this time

Special Equipment:Flotation devices

After seeing this pic of Madison from 4/22 by MadTownie I wanted to make it up there and ski from the summit and possibly head over to Great Gully in King Ravine to ski out.

Trail bare at Apalachia, I started up pretty late (11:50am) up the Airline.

Saw my first good consistent snow shortly after and at some point started skinning up the trail.

Trail was packed at the steps but mostly mushy outside of them. Working around the tons of blowdown on the narrow trail with skis on was a PITA (I'm still a BC newbie, so still getting used to navigating trails with skis on). With still tons of snow, the trail got pretty short, probably 3' high at spots.

That, fighting blowdown, and getting completely soaked because of the rain (it was raining pretty good at around 3pm) and wet trees all around, I was making horrible time up the trail and my spirits were being drained as I kicked myself for:
a)Leaving my shell in the car for some reason
b)forgetting my headlamp in the car - both of them
c)picking up the wrong map xerox copy to take with me

But anyway, onward I went and reached the end of the skinning line

Caught some views of the Great Gully and, with quick views of Madison not being too promising (low snowpack and socked in fog), and Not too much time left for safely guaranteeing to make it out before dark, I decided to can Madison and just head over and try to find the snow entrance to the Great Gully.

On the Gulfside I had to stop at one of the snowfields on the flanks of Adams, go up and ski down back to the trail :)