Is this a Cormorant?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SAR-EMT40

Reaction score
It is a diving bird. I saw him go under for a very long time. Actually never saw him come back up. I know someone here will know for sure.

IMG_0514.jpg

IMG_0515.jpg

IMG_0516.jpg

IMG_0517.jpg

IMG_0518.jpg
IMG_0519.jpg
IMG_0520.jpg

IMG_0521.jpg

IMG_0522.jpg

IMG_0523.jpg

IMG_0524.jpg
IMG_0525.jpg

Thanks,
Keith

Though not a bird person, I think it is. They frequently come inland. I have seen them on Squam, and once saw one sitting on a raft just like this on Connor Pond in the Ossipee Range.
I think this is an older one, perhaps beginning to prepare to die. Usually when they are above water, they are hanging their wings to dry. Also, their beak is not hanging open.

I think its a juvenile - they have the white bellies. Adults are almost entirely dark brown/black. I'm not an expert either but I have seen many cormorants around the boat over the last 20 years.

Tim

Yellow chin pouch, white throat strap, white underbelly....

Looks to be a juvie Great Cormorant shamelessly begging for food.

Breeze

I agree: cormorant.

There is a huge colony on Little Galloo Island in eastern Lake Ontario, near Henderson Harbor. These are reportedly Double-crested Cormorants, which may not have been native to the lake, but colonized (from Canada) after the impact of pesticides was reduced in the 1980s-1990s. Controversy exists as to their impact on game fishing (smallmouth bass) and in 1998 wildlife biologists discovered that somebody has "visited" the island and illegally shot a large number of nesting adults.

Being a Watertown native and having been on the lake, I would love to sail (or kayak) out there and see the colony - but from the water, and UPWIND !!

MR