Looking for Koflach Degre owners!

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hikingfish

Reaction score
Montreal, Qc, Canada Avatar: Top of Gothics, Adk
Hello!
Since I'm fairly new to hiking (only started this summer), I haven't purchased winter boots yet and I'm still hiking in my summer boots (gore-tex north face boots, pretty good but they get chilly when we're not moving). I was thinking of going with a plastic boot (I have yet to rent a pair, but I was just informed that the mountaineer rents out Artic Expe's...so I'll try to rent a pair next weekend). I was wondering if there were any owners of the Degre model on this board? I've been trying to find good reviews of those boots, but they are rather rare and rarely useful. I'd like to know which activities you use them for (I mainly do snowshoeing coupled with cramponing, I want to get more into ice climbing and more serious mountaineering as well) and in which conditions and how they performed. I plan on using them a bit in Quebec, but mainly in the Adirondacks, the Whites, etc (basically, Eastern mountains).

Thanks!

Fish

Welcome aboard, Hikingfish!

If you use the search function for "Koflach Degre" or "Degree" as some folks spell it, you'll find a lot of info about them.

They seem to be the most popular boots out there and there has been a lot of discussion about them this winter.

I have them and like them just fine... fit is very important. I understand they aren't the best boot for vertical ice and they aren't necessarily warm enough to do some big mountaineering expeditions (think Alaska) but are great for the northeast.

spencer