Please help me choose a new camera . . . THANKS.

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sli74

Reaction score
H: Brighton, MA, Avatar :Brian and I at the 2005 S
I am ready to get a new camera. I have had a number of Canons and love them so I am leaning towards getting a Canon but am open to other suggestions also. Here is what I need:

The best pictures I can get
Lightweight/ultralight
Good battery life
LCD and optical viewfinder
7 MP or better
$300 MAX but $200 would be even better

Give me your choices and why . . . I appreciate all your insight.
Thanks,

sli74

I have a Canon A720, but I haven’t yet taken it out on any real hikes, so I can’t say how well it will compare with the Kodak DX4530 I’ve been using since 2003.

The Canon has Image Stabilization — which doesn’t work as perfectly as I had thought/hoped it would, so it may not really be an improvement over the Kodak (which was starting to get on my nerves with all the pictures ruined by blur), but we’ll see when I get it in the woods — and options for either shutter- or aperture-priority, as well as the auto and program modes. That’s more than the Kodak offers, which is auto-only.

The Kodak sits in the chest of drawers, while I carry the Canon with me much of the time.

The Canon isn’t a single-lens reflex, just a little point-and-shoot. Smaller and probably lighter than the Kodak, too. I used to carry an Olympus SLR (the good ol’ reliable OM-1) and two or three additional lenses, but got tired of having to go through the trouble of hauling it all out whenever I wanted to take a picture. I ruined thre Olympus in 2002 anyway, and got the Kodak digital. These little cameras can just hang in a little bag on my hipbelt and are easy to whip out.

I don’t suppose that’s much help.