Wilderness Protocol & Frequency Monitoring

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Last edited:
No, generally I leave my radio off and save it for an emergency. Usually I will only take it out in the morning to get the weather.

But I program the radio with 6m, 2m and UHF repeaters in the area before I leave for a trip, and try them out if I have never used them before.

Quoted from the TCARC site:
The Wilderness Protocol is a suggestion that those outside of repeater range should monitor standard simplex channels at specific times in case others have Emergency or priority calls.

Key word here is "OTHERS"....
My understanding of this Protocol is that it COULD potentially benefit someone, who might be in trouble. The idea is fairly simple and doesn't require a LOT of resouces in the way of battery use since monitoring would occur during every 3rd hour on the hour (starting at 7 am.) and for a minimum of 5 minutes for each monitoring period. The only problem that I see is that if it is not widely used or know about it has limiting capabilities. Does anyone know if the USFS or AMC follows the Wilderness Protocol?