2 burner Stoves for road trips.

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IndianChris

Reaction score
I'd like to pick the brains of all the great members on this site again...

Looking for a good stove, double burner, for road trips with family.

Are the stoves that use the coleman propane canisters the way to go? I really don't want to lug those things around. I've had plenty of experience with them but like I said, don't want to lug those canisters around. But they are simple to use.

Is liquid fuel better? Do they operate the same way, let's say, like an MSR Whisperlite operates? Needs priming? White gas? Functions in colder weather much better than the coleman propane?

Looking for suggestions. Thanks!

I have two Coleman double burners. One uses canisters and the other white gas. The canister is far easier to use, but you then have to deal with empty canisters. The white gas requires pumping and is no big deal unless you have a problem with lighting picnic table and the surround grass on fire, which happened to me at Baxter a few years ago and is a story for another time.

Depending on how long the trip is, and how comfortable you are with white gas vs. a canister will determine which stove you will use.

Consider fuel availability. Wally worlds pretty much always carry coleman propane canisters.. Coleman's fuel is generally available too as White gas, but you'd only be able to find the gallon size which may or may not be desireable for you.

Jay

Over 10 years ago I purchased an MSR RapidFire, a lightweight stove similar to the WhisperLight, which uses iso-butane fuel available in the 8 oz. canisters. I liked it so much that I bought a second for those times when two stoves would be useful. I still use these stoves for backpacking.