Trail conditions and best route to test my ski pulk

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HuiYeng

Reaction score
Hi I am a novice XC skier, looking for a good and somewhat longer route to test pulling my pulk on skis.
There are two routes I have in mind:

From 302, take Zealand trail, Ethan Pond trail via Shoal Pond to Still water junction. I've never been on Shoal pond, and saw that there are couple of water crossing on the map. Does anyone has any information about the crossing conditions, or general is this a good route for a novice to test the pulk?

Another route is Lincoln Woods , Franconia Brook to 13 Falls. Ideally if the conditions is OK, will try to loop back via Lincoln Brook trail. I've been there in there summer, not sure of winter route condition in winter. Any suggestions? Or recommendation for other options?

We would like to have longer mileage, less water crossing....

Thanks in advance!

-Hui Yeng

I'm not sure I'd recommend either of those routes for a true novice nordic skier. Also, probably a good idea to mess around with the dynamics of pulling a pulk on snowshoes, at least a little, before you go for a long tug on skis. You're talking about some fairly lengthy trips, on uneven terrain at least some of the time, with the added strangeness of a pulk in tow ... seems like a lot of variables to juggle all at once. Maybe try something more forgiving first? Livermore road, Pemi east side, Al Merrill loop, something like that? Just a thought.

Hi I am a novice XC skier...

-Hui Yeng
I've seen you ski- you're no longer a novice!

I would do the Wilderness Trail and if it's too much just do an out and back.