MSR Lightning vs Conventional Snowshoes?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeterM

Reaction score
I'm new to snowshoeing, and very happy with my Yukon Charlie 930's and my Atlas 1030's. A friend just had me over to try these against the MSR Lightning Ascents. Their strength seemed to be their very low weight, replacable straps, and overall crampon style. But they just don't have the surface area to provide the floatation that a 30" shoe offers.

MSR's strength - is it in backpacking and mountaineering, and less preferred for general snow travel? I'm happy with what I have, but my friend wants to know whether to keep the MSR's or return them for one of the more usual styles.

Appreciate partricular comments from owners of both styles, that know where & when each has its strengths.

Peter from snowy Plymouth, MA

They are designed for traction, not float. In New England, we get a lot of ice so these snow shoes would be good for ascending mountains.

I recently got a pair of the MSR Denali Ascents, which have optional add-on tails to increase foat. I have used the tails quite a bit locally (in Massachusetts) but up in the Whites I took the tails off. It looks like there is no place to add tails on the Lightnings.

Last edited:
No place for tails

What you see is what you get, so check the weight ratings. The Lightning Ascents won't take a big bugger like me with a full pack, but for the lighter load of a day hike they at least have the right rating. Since the snow all fell in Plymouth, instead of the mountains, mine remain relatively untested, but the one time I did use them it was nothing but grip. I love them, and wish it would snow, in the mountains, dammit!