altitude sickness, what's your call?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sleeping bear

Reaction score
Alright, so this is sort of an extension on the "worst case scenario" thread and also some fodder for a course in which I'm studying judgment.

Here's the scenario:
You're leading a group of people on a two week trip in the mountains.
There are ten people altogether. This could just be a group of friends, but let's say you have the most outdoor experience of any of them. One member of the group (we'll call him John) began to display symptoms of acute mountain sickness (AMS) on the second day of the trip at about 11,000'. John deteriorated throughout that day, ending with a vomiting spell in the middle of the night. You didn't evac them because it was dark. In the morning John claimed to be feeling better and did look better. The group spent the day in camp resting. The next day John AMS claimed to be feeling much better and was ready to move camp. The group packed up and planned to cross a 13,000' pass and camp at about about 11,400' on the other side. At 12,000' John looks terrible again, but insists he can keep going. You take heavy items from his pack and redistribute them throughout the group. At 12,500' John begins vomiting again. Now he says his extremeties are tingling and he has a pounding headache. Clouds are rolling in and thunderstorms are the norm at this time of day. The rest of the group is in good condition, but you've been moving really slowly to accomodate John. Do you continue over the pass knowing that you will camp low on the other side? Or, do you turn the group around and go back down this side of the pass?

I have very little experience with AMS or elevation. I do not know which is the correct decision, and am looking for input from those with more high altitude expereince.

Last edited: