My brush with death

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
YIKES! :eek:

Glad everything turned out ok!

Please keep us informed of your progress.

Hopefully if they send you home with a heart monitor you will find out it is something as simple as Tachacardia, a PITA but harmless.

Besides, you still have to accept your award for the most beautiful avatar!

:)

No, I am not a doctor and no this is not medical advice.

Not all tachycardias are harmless -- however atrial (AV node) tachycardia is far less dangerous than the ventricular tachycardias. I'm told the most common of the SVTs (SupraVentricular Tachycardia) is atrial fibrillation. I have been to the ER with a family member on more than one occasion for the SVT diagnosis.

For this reason, I am more than mildly curious about your ultimate diagnosis. FWIW, it may come in batches and then go away. There are some techniques for making it go away in the field. Invoking the dive reflex by submerging your face in ice cold water (splashing cold water may help while out hiking) is one. Another involves bearing down like having a bowel movement or squeezing out a kid.

No, I am not a doctor and no this is not medical advice. Check with your doctor or cardiologist.

Glad you made it out OK.

Tim

Last edited:
bikehikeskifish said:
No, I am not a doctor and no this is not medical advice.
No, I am not a DR. either, but I have AV Tachycardia, and if it kicks in, I usually just stop for a minute or 2, and then I'm ok. My DR. did not say it was harmless, he said if it happens, STOP, and to do the same things Tim just mentioned. If you continue to exert yourself, you will start to get light headed, and you could pass out, or go into arrest.

Hopefully, this will be good news or a the very least make you feel just a little bit better.