hawk ID help, and discussion of migration

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

forestgnome

Reaction score
This hawk(?) was cruising very slow and very low over a meadow near Mt. Passaconaway. It was flying about a foot over the goldenrod really slowly, hunting for mice, I assume. It caught me by surprise as I was looking for moose. This shot was toward the setting sun so I couldn't get any more detail. Any ID help is appreciated.

hawk91708.jpg

Also, isn't this prime time for watching migrating hawks from mountains? Are there any favorite mountains for sighting them? What times of the day are good?

happy trails :)

My guess is a Northern Harrier. Did you see it hovering at all? That would confirm it.

Last edited:
Lovely pic, the leaves are changing quickly. You are so fortunate to spend your days immersed in these events...I'm no expert on Hawks (or much of anything for that matter) but I think that bird has an Osprey-like profile. Willl be watching this thread to see what the resident ornithologists come up with. Very sleek! Nice catch on film.

Nice going on the altered photo Jason! Much easier to zoom in on and get some details. How did you do it?

I'm thinking Northern Harrier.

As I began to read the description of it's behavior the first thing that popped into my mind was Marsh Hawk (the old name for a Northern Harrier).

Ospreys are fish eaters so you'll find them looking for food over water. And what a spectacular performance they give!

Definitely Northern Harrier, either a female or a sub-adult, but I'm guessing female. The adult male is sort of deep blue-gray in color. I've never seen them this far North.