Heat Illness and Hiking

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MEB

Reaction score
When hiking in extreme heat, like this past weekend, remember to:

Take many breaks!
Drinks lots of water!
Eat!

I learned a good lesson this past weekend after being overcome with heat exhaustion. It is not something I never wish to go through again and thankfully I was with a great group who all helped me deal with my situtation. I just thought I would bring this up as the warm weather has finally arrived.

Anyone else have any tips or recommendations on how to avoid this potentially life threatening illness?

-MEB

MEB said:
Take many breaks!
Drinks lots of water!
Eat!
-MEB
I'm no expert but I would say the above things are good and
make sure you replace the salts your body loses.

The heat can really wipe me out though. I drank a lot of liquids and ate during the F'ing day yesterday and still, when I went to the gym I was wiped out and dehydrated. The heat just zaps my energy. I still take chicken soup with me regardless of how hot the weather gets. And lots of water.

-Dr. Wu

Last edited:
I had the same experience this weekend, and rest in the shade is what finally helped me feel better. I didn't have any gatorade with me, but some easily digestible food helped wonders. A frozen water bottle isn't bad either. :D

Slow down your pace, start earlier in the morning, don't bite off as big a hike as you are used to, stop and take more pictures.

-dave-

I was in the same situation several years ago, MEB. Very hot day, heavy pack, long hike, inadequate hydration, inadequate electrolyte replacement all led to my being overcome. My brother carried my pack as well as his the remainder of the day as I struggled to keep up. I only recovered after drinking over 2 liters of liquid and taking a 2 hour nap.