Anybody see the torch on Everest?

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John H Swanson

Reaction score
I was watching the evening news last night and they had some footage of the torch reaching the summit of Everest.

Eventhough Tom Brokaw is gone, I'm still watching his channel as he would always include the occasional mountainering story (being he is a climber) I was thinking he might have given it a little more time than the 5-8 second clip.

Well thanks to Tivo, I saw it a half dozen times and noticed a few things. The summit approach, though generally easy had a fixed rope. I don't think that section usually has a fixed rope, but as an engineer, I'm sure I would have considered roping the entire route considering the importance and depth of resources available. Also I noticed that the climber with the torch at the summit was without oxygen mask for the photo op. I guess it makes political sense. He/she appeared lifeless and a few seconds away from frostbite. I also notice that, when it came time to raise the torch, the sherpa next to the climber lifted the hand with the torch into the air. He was wearing an oxygen mask. I got the impression that the climber did not have enough energy to lift the torch.

Don't take this the wrong way. I did not mean to critique but rather just report. We all know that it takes a tremenous effort to summit Everest and few can meet the challenge (I'n not one) In fact when I heard China intended to take the torch to the summit, it made me wonder if it would be possible and how.

this thread was not intended to start a Tibet rant nor a rant about limiting access to climbers for this event.

I saw some of the footage too. It did not look very pleasent up there at the time (windy, no view)