Sustainability in the outdoor industry

vftt.org

Help Support vftt.org:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Craig

Reaction score
I think Walmart was the first big consumer corporation to announce a sustainability initiative. It looks like they may be putting their money where their mouth is in implementing what appears to be an ambitious endeavor.

Now it appears Golite has established a corporate sustainability initiative. At first blush it looks pretty impressive. They even have a program where you can send in your used/abused Golite stuff in to them and get 20% credit towards your next purchase.
Good marketing?

I’m no expert at corporate sustainability but I have to wonder:

1. Is this a case of big business having too much money and not enough places to spend it?
2. Is this just marketing to a consumer segment that is typically more environmentally aware than other market consumers?
3. Is this a way to cut cost and increase margins?
4. Or, is this a case where corporate folks really believe they can make a difference on their environmental impact and they are taking whatever steps are available at this time to help.

Below are the conclusions from this article.

That was an eye opening exercise. Some companies in the outdoor industry seem to get the environmental sustainability movement and many others don't, at least, based on external appearances. I am hopeful that this will change as it become clearer that environmentally sustainable manufacturing and cause marketing provide companies with a competitive advantage. In the meantime, vote with your wallet and tell the outdoor industry that values matter more than hype.

What do you think?

I think I’m going to send my old skivvies’ back to Golite..:)

Craig,

Now I know why my Go-Lite gear is so damned expensive. But, I like it what they claim to be doing. Good PR for sure!